Ssshhhhh…Listen to It – Part 1

27Jan11
Sigur Ros

Music is Everywhere

Hey everybody!!! It has been quite a while since my last entry and I apologize for that. I have had this idea in my mind for a while and its something that I find very important. The main point of this post is for you to understand the importance of music, at least in my eyes. Of course everybody is different and not everybody will agree with me. I’m gunna do this anyways though. Here we go folks. Lets go on a journey!
Music is a huge part of my life both with listening as well as playing. I play the bass guitar and I have since prolly my sophomore year of high school. I have mostly used my fairly good skills for helping lead worship for youth groups and church services, but I have also played with friends to put on a show. So that is my current involvement with music. Well you could say I was in a band but I don’t think the other band members would necessary admit that but its true. We had two names and I always thought they were pretty fly. Before I officially joined the group they were called Fries and Apple Pies. After I joined we almost called ourselves Cranberries and Small Fairies but we ended up landing on Finding Isaac which was way more kool. Obviously.
Wow this is already a long post…it happens.
Music is everywhere and is multipurpose. Music has this way about it that almost can’t be described. It can take you on mental journeys through your many emotions. One song can lift your spirits high and the next could tear you down to darker depressive emotion. Music can make you want to dance whether its slow or ‘dirty’, as the kids call it. Music is atmospheric. It can create the world around you in a way. You can almost see the world in a new way when different music is playing.  Many cultures and religions have used music as well to express themselves as well as enhance their souls, so to speak.
Music to me is a way for me to relax, to let go of a days stress, to punch dance my rage out, to worship God, to dance…alone…where no one can see my sick nasty moves, and to think and to dream of anything and everything. Music is Everything! So next time you eating carrot sticks on your water bed, jumping over the moon, or scanning your computer for viruses, put on some music. Any music at all and…
Ssshhhhh…Listen to It.
Adam Groff
You can receive my blog entries in your email. It’s free.  It’s private.  Look in the right-hand navigation bar, enter your email address and click subscribe. You will be sent a confirmation email.   Note:  if it doesn’t arrive, check your spam filter for the confirmation email
One Response to “Ssshhhhh…Listen to It – Part 1”

  1. 1 dad

    Grandpa Groff is looking down on you and I guarantee you he is thrilled. Music was sooooo important to him!!!! Uncle John might put you in his will!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! HA HA HA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Love
    DAd


Leave a Reply

