The Comfort of Being Uncomfortable

15Sep10

Comfertably Uncomfortable

We as humans desire to be comfortable. That is in both physical and mental statuses. In a crowded, hot room, most of us may, after a time, seek “fresh” air or an opened area to relax or recover from the discomfort. If we fill the room with mostly people we don’t know, we tend to flock to the ones we do know to escape mental discomfort or awkwardness.

In seeking comfort, we end up avoiding situations that could be used to turn others towards grace. When others talk about how being Christian is stupid do we refrain from defending our faith. Why do we care more about fitting in then we do for our own beliefs. It doesn’t make sense but we all do it at some point in our lives. I know I have done it. Heck, I have even done the half truth where I tell them “Yeah, I believe it but I’m not all about it.” Don’t be like me. Proclaim what you believe when the situation calls for it because you don’t know when the chance may come for you to show someone new the Grace of God.

Sometimes in order to turn others towards grace, we need to step out of our elements and let God use us. When my church planting team was handing out surveys in lancaster, I found myself shying away from people because of how uncomfortable it is for me to walk up to a stranger and start a conversation. Having talked with a friend of mine, I realized that the only way for God to use us is to step outside of our bubbles and let God take control. Basically, your not going to be able to spread the word of God if your not going to put yourself in situations where you can. They may be extremely awkward and uncomfortable but if you trust God, he can give you the words and comfort.

The comfort of being uncomfortable is God.

KIT

Adam Groff

You can receive my blog entries in your email. It’s free.  It’s private.  Look in the right-hand navigation bar, enter your email address and click subscribe. You will be sent a confirmation email.   Note:  if it doesn’t arrive, check your spam filter for the confirmation email

4 Responses to “The Comfort of Being Uncomfortable”

  1. 1 Tim

    Groffy – preach it.

    Tim

  2. 3 Beth

    thanks Adam…I struggle with loving my comfort zone way too much…appreciate your thoughts and candor….

  3. You really make iit sesm so easy with your presentation but I to
    find thiss topic to be really something that I feel I would by no means understand.
    It seems too complicated and very extensive for me. I’m taking
    a look ahead to your subsequent publish, I’ll trry to get the cling of it!


Leave a Reply

