Climb the Mountain Part 2

18Apr10
Mountain

Mountain

To continue the saga of how I made my way to the top of the mountain, I’ll begin with where I left off. I had just begun ascending up the mountain on a rocky trail that zigged zagged the whole way to the top. My dad had told me a while back to watch out for snakes and to basically not go up when its hot because they will be out of there holes. To be honest I was going out of my way to try to find snakes haha. A little danger would just add to the thrill of conquering the hill.

Anyways, at one point the path seemed to go almost sideways and I saw an opportunity to cut a corner to make the trip a bit faster. I’m still unsure if that was the right decision or not. I’m leaning towards no because I scratched up my legs pretty good on some thorny bushes and I worked pretty hard to make it up to where the path continued on. The long grass was dead, or so it seemed, and flattened to the ground. The ground was covered with it and it took away a lot of the traction the lay underneath the brush.

After conquering that, the mountain didn’t ease up on me at all adding in steep climbs and loose rocks to climb over. The final climb was pretty intense. It was about a 15 foot last climb up a fairly steep part of the trail but I powered through it like a champ. I prolly put a lot more effort into it than I had to but I wanted to conquer the mountain in courageous fashion with a never give up attitude. Having conquered the mountain I paraded on top like the weirdo I am raising my arms above my head, Rocky Balboa style from Rocky IV specifically. You know, a week after I did this, a good friend of mine told me that his around 4 year old son climbed this same mountain before. Thats a bit discouraging because I did not find it an easy task, but at the same time, I can’t help but laugh at it.

Now down to connection making. Ones walk with Christ can be easily linked to such an adventure as the one described above. Your walk with Christ can easy be a long zig zaggy trail that seems to not go anywhere too fast. In these scenarios we need to just buckle down and keep moving forward. Yeah, you can take a short cut, but that can easily lead you astray if your not careful. For example, when I took a short cut on the trail to the top, I went through a lot bigger of a struggle than if I had just continued on the path. It took a lot of physically effort to stay the course and not go too far off the trail. Slipping on the slick underbrush can signify how one can slip up in there walk with Christ. When you lose your ways or in this case your traction, it leaves you with a tougher time getting back on track. Do you struggle with staying on track in your walk with Christ?

“The world ain’t all sunshine and rainbows. It’s a very mean and nasty place and I don’t care how tough you are it will beat you to your knees and keep you there permanently if you let it. You, me, or nobody is gonna hit as hard as life. But it ain’t about how hard ya hit. It’s about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward.” Quote from the movie Rocky Balboa.

KIT

Adam Groff

4 Responses to “Climb the Mountain Part 2”

  1. 1 Jay-C

    You’re the man!
    -life’s short. stunt it!

  2. 3 DAD

    Adam, I enjoy your views and observations on life and how they can have paralells to our Christian walk. Sometimes we have to battle through the “thorns” to learn and grow! Keep learning and growing in the Lord!!!

    PS I would have heard your screem in Lancaster if you had seen a large rattler!!!!!

    Dad

    • That is a very good point, Dad. Thanks for you input. And by the way, I may have inherited your sweat glands and your cheesy sense of humor but I did not inherit your fear of snakes. hahaha. Thanks again for your comment.

      Adam


Leave a Reply

